Busy, Busy, Busy

Oh my goodness, life has gotten busy. the hubs/fiance/bf/whatever is working outside of the home. I’m finally working something regular inside the home, but waiting to start something else as well. I’m really not sure how much I’m allowed to say about my jobs. I type this as the boys are talking to each other about what I consider to be slightly inappropriate. Let’s see if I can finally get off my butt and do more writing. I’ve noticed over time that my writing has gotten worse than it was in high school. That’s a bit unnerving. The people you associate with can really change your intelligence. I know I’m rambling.

I had to take parenting classes after my son got into trouble. They were interesting and even a bit fun. During them I realized I talk to much to the kids, give them reasons they don’t really care about for behaving right, and at the wrong times.  This is probably common knowledge for some, but don’t try to correct your kids when they’re mad. I only really put it out there because it seems to be working. My boy has been a real defiant handful most of his life. When he gets into a tantrum, I tell him to go hang out in his room and talk to me when he’s calmed and can do so without yelling. That’s for both him and I, because he’s put holes in the walls and me into a bookcase. Things are currently getting better though. I just hope they keep going that way. My parenting class didn’t change things as much as my son having the scare of being in a detention center.I hope he stays a bit worried about that possibility. Having some fear keeps people doing better. I know some will disagree with me and that’s okay. I’m not looking for anyone to agree with me. I’ve always done this just so that anyone else who thinks as I do will know they aren’t alone.

